FKF names provisional squad for CECAFA under U-20

A squad of 36 players is set to report to a training camp this weekend at the Barclays Sports Club in Nairobi.

Football Kenya federation has unveiled a provisional squad that will represent Kenya in the forthcoming CECAFA under twenty Women event this July in Nairobi. The list largely features players who took part in the Chapa Dimba tournament.

A squad of 36 players is set to report to a training camp this weekend at the Barclays Sports Club in Nairobi. Mathare United Women’s Teresia Lundu and Judith Atieno have been dropped from the Harambee Starlets squad.

In a FKF communique, a total of 36 players have been named to hit camp ahead of the Cecafa event. They will head to camp for a selection exercise is set to kick off on May 18, 2019, at the Barclays Sports Club in Nairobi.

The list draws most of its players from the Chapa Dimba na Safaricom Tournament with a few of the stars currently part of the Chapa Dimba na Safaricom All Stars team touring Spain.

Kenya U20 team was last active in 2017 when they took part in the World Cup Qualifiers and fell to Ghana in the final qualifying round. They had taken out Botswana and Ethiopia in the preliminary rounds.

The selection comes barely a week after most of the Kenya women League teams  laid  down their tools  citing frustration and broken  promises  by the federation.

Provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Stella Ahono (Bishop Njenga), Caroline Rufa (Nthiwa Queens), Micky Khode (Solwogidi), Phyllis Chemutai (Kitale Queens)

Defenders: Valentine Odeu (Wiyeta Girls), Sheila Kiprop (Wiyeta Girls), Esther Amakobe (Nyuki Starlets), Miriam Orapidi (Bishop Njenga), Dorcas Muronji (Bishop Njenga)

Midfielders: Teresia Lundu (Mathare United), Beverline Achieng (Kobala Mixed), Cynthia Matekwa (Nyuki Starlets), Diana Hashina (Acakoro), Diana Musilivi (Wiyeta Girls), Amina Waswa (Nyuki Starlets), Lavender Murumwa (Bishop Njenga), Lydia Akoth (Zetech Soccer Queens), Irene Atieno (Acakoro), Cynthia Libondo (Kitale Queens), Nuru Hensey (St. Mary’s Ndovea), Mercy Njeri (Bishop Njenga)

Forwards: Judith Atieno (Mathare United), Laventine Lihemo (Wiyeta Girls), Joy Kinglady (Kwale Girls), Lenah Wanjala (Nyuki Starlets), Ann Malumbi (Ibinzo Girls), Asher Achieng (Kobala Mixed), Violet Wanyonyi (Bishop Njenga), Jane Njeri (Barcelona Laikipia), Catherine Aringo (Kwale Ladies), Hamisi Joyce Lina (Changamwe Ladies), Claudia Kadenge (Itigo Girls), Daisy Chirchir (St. Mary’s Ndovea), Yvonne Ogada (NCEOD Queens), Lutomia Miriam (Barcelona Laikipia), Agnelita Marondo (Kitale Queens)

Facebook comments